Foundation Board Hosts Annual Meeting

Foundation Board Hosts Annual Meeting

Foundation Board Holds Annual Meeting 

Barberton Community Foundation’s Board of Directors met at the Barberton Public Library for their annual meeting on January 19, 2023.

The Foundation has three exiting board members: Josh Gordon, past chair, Denny Liddle and Brett Haverlick. Jason Slater, board chair, thanked the outgoing board members for their service to the Foundation. “I can’t thank you enough for your time, expertise and commitment to the Foundation. You all have made such a contribution to the good work being done here.”

The Foundation swore in the 2023 slate of officers. Jason Slater will continue in his role as chair of the board, with Lynne Holcomb serving as vice chair, Jennifer Bidlingmyer serving as treasurer and Deb Shreiner serving as secretary. 

The board welcomed four new members: Ann Hutchison, Hugh McMichael, Theresa Osborne and Susan Wynn. Each member agreed to serve an initial three-year term with the Foundation.

The first grant cycle for Education and Workforce & Economic Development closes Wednesday, February 1. Scholarships for high school students opened Friday, January 13 and will close Monday, February 13. Students seeking scholarships and nonprofits interested in applying for grants should utilize the Foundation’s new application portal GOapply available at The Foundation also announced a first round of funding is available for the Downtown Building Rehabilitation Program and the Economic Development Assistance Program, with a deadline to apply by Monday, February 13.

Foundation Board Holds Annual Meeting, Swears In New Slate of Officers

Foundation Board Holds Annual Meeting, Swears In New Slate of Officers

Barberton Community Foundation Logo
(L-R) Justin Greer and Josh Gordon
(L-R) Slate of Officers: Deb Shreiner, Jason Slater, Denny Liddle, Jennifer Bidlingmyer

Barberton Community Foundation’s Board of Directors met at the Active Adult Center for their annual meeting on January 20, 2022.

Josh Gordon, outgoing chair, welcomed Justin Greer to the board. Greer is automatically appointed to the Foundation board with his seat as City Council President and will serve an intial three-year term with the Foundation.

The Foundation also swore in a new slate of officers for 2022. Jason Slater will serve as Chair of the Board with Denny Liddle serving as Vice Chair, Jennifer Bidlingmyer serving as Treasurer and Debra Shreiner serving as Secretary.

Other business included the economic development committee’s report on the Foundation’s contract with Heritage Ohio to provide a Downtown Assessment Review Team (DART) visit this spring. The Foundation is also working with Measurement Resources to conduct a needs assessment for the Barberton community. The Foundation is partnering with the City, Schools, and Summa Health Barberton Campus on the assessment.

Jim Bauschlinger, chair of the economic development committee, reports that the 10-year lease to Stark State College’s Barberton Campus for the Armory building, which is a Foundation property, will expire this summer. Stark State is planning to consolidate their welding program in Akron. The Foundation will be making a decision as to how best to utilize this property.

Suzanne Allen, Executive Director, shared that the Foundation had a record year for donations. “We are extremely grateful that we serve such a giving community,” she said. The Foundation also established four new funds in 2021, three of which are scholarships for Barberton students. The scholarship window is currently open for Barberton High School students to apply through the School’s website. Suzanne shared that the Foundation is looking forward to increasing the scholarships for the 2022 school year.

If you want to learn more about the Foundation, visit our website at or please give us a call at 330-745-5995.