Annual Dinner and Game Changer Award

We envision an improved quality of life for Barberton residents, now and forever.

About the Game Changer Award

The Game Changer award identifies and celebrates those individuals and organizations who deserve recognition for the good work they have done in the community.

Nominees should be an individual or an organization that has made a positive impact in Barberton through their leadership, vision and/or commitment to the community. Tell us what you admire about them, how they have benefitted Barberton, and acts of service they have performed. Nominees should be connected to the community as a resident, a volunteer, or through their work.

The Game Changer award is traditionally presented during Barberton Community Foundation’s Annual Dinner.

2022 Nominations Now Open

Barberton Community Foundation is seeking nominations until Thursday, June 30, for the annual Game Changer awards. These awards are meant to highlight the invaluable contributions of individuals and organizations to our city and encourage others to follow the example they have set.

Past Award Winners


  • Lisa McLean, Game Changer
  • Barberton City Schools, Game Changer
  • Summa Health – Barberton Campus, Game Changer


  • Dorothy Somerville, Game Changer
  • The Barberton Area Jaycees, Game Changer


  • Bill Aulenbach, Game Changer
  • Paula Kallio, Game Changer
  • Magical Theatre Company, Game Changer


  • Lake Anna YMCA, Game Changer
  • Elwood Palmer, Game Changer


  • Debbie Shreiner, Game Changer
  • Neighborhood Development Services, Game Changer
  • Barberton School’s Destination Imagination, Game Changer


  • Dennis Liddle, Jr., Game Changer
  • CC Supply, Game Changer


  • James E. Arnett, Game Changer
  • Friends of the Barberton Public Library, Game Changer
  • JohnDow Industries, Game Changer
  • Medical Mutual, Game Changer


  • Milan Pavkov, Game Changer
  • Gary Matney, Game Changer
  • Lisa Oklish Miller, Game Changer


  • Don & Rhonda Wood, Outstanding Citizen
  • Terry & Patricia Taylor, Outstanding Citizen
  • Robert C. Frutchey, Memorial Award


  • Leon Ricks, Outstanding Citizen
  • Barberton Sports Hall of Fame, Outstanding Organization


  • Art & Laurette Bradnick, Outstanding Citizens
  • St. Vincent De Paul Society, Outstanding Organization


  • Tom & Kathy Harnden, Outstanding Citizens
  • Barberton Moose #759, Outstanding Organization


  • Larry & Marty Bidlingmyer, Outstanding Citizens
  • Coalition of Concerned Christians, Outstanding Organization


  • Dr. Milan Pavkov, Outstanding Citizen
  • Barberton Beatification, Outstanding Organization


  • David Incorvati, Outstanding Citizen
  • Barberton Historical Society, Outstanding Organization


  • Kenneth Cox, Outstanding Citizen
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars Post #1066,  Outstanding Organization


  • Grace Duncan, Outstanding Citizen
  • Kiwanis Club of Barberton, Outstanding Organization


  • Craig & Elizabeth Wilson, Outstanding Citizens
  • Magic City Kiwanis, Outstanding Organization
  • Harry Bauschlinger, Memorial Award


  • Walter Ritzman, Outstanding Citizen
  • Barberton Red Cross, Outstanding Organization


  • Royal Wood (in memoriam), Outstanding Citizen
  • Barberton Area Community Ministries, Outstanding Organization


  • Dr. Robert Littlejohn, Lifetime Achievement
  • Gary & Lois Matney, Citizens of the Year
  • Barberton Community Health Clinic,  Outstanding Organization


  • Esther Ryan, Lifetime Achievement
  • Mary Frances Ahern, Citizen of the Year
  • Decker Family Development Center,  Outstanding Organization